Posted by: addictionstinks | January 11, 2013

This Is The Part I Hate

They must have taken him from the county jail. I haven’t heard from him in a couple of days now. And since I live in Illinois, that means that he gets to spend a couple of weeks in Receiving in the lovely and infamous Stateville. They are on lockdown 24/7 and are let our of their cells once a week for a shower. Yes that’s right – ONCE A WEEK. He will probably be there for a couple of weeks at the least.

The silence is eerie. Its weirding me out. You would think I would be used to this since this our 2nd time, but I don’t think a mother could ever get used to this.

Off to weep quietly.

Edited to add: Just checked the Department of Corrections website. He has in fact been taken to Stateville. I really HATE seeing that mugshot!! Wahhhhhh!!!

Responses

  1. I am so sorry for your pain. (((Hug))))

  2. I am so sorry. Us parents suffer more than the kids, or so it seems. Try to take care of yourself.

  3. it is so hard. I am very sorry for how much you are hurting right now. I remember how I felt when she went off the radar, and was in the main yard (receiving) for six weeks. It was almost as hard as having her out there on a run, but I took comfort in the fact that she was alive, and getting a great opportunity to THINK about things with nothing to gloss it over or make it easier. Still, I remember getting the first letter she sent out and sitting down on the sidewalk, holding it and crying. I spent a lot of time during her lockdown sleeping too much, in meetings, and in contact with her then-boyfriend’s family. They were arrested together, served the same amount of time, and released together. There is hope, always. My daughter and he will be three years sober from heroin and meth in April, and they just got married. I am still praying for you and J every single day. Blessings and hugs….

  4. I can’t think of anything to day other than I’m so so sorry – damn : (


Leave a Reply

Categories

