Posted by: addictionstinks | December 6, 2012

The Suboxone Controversy

J sure likes to tell on himself when he’s in jail – LOL. He does this all the time.

Anyways, he’s admitted to me that he would take his Suboxone in the morning when I gave it to him, and be using dope by 5:00 in the afternoon. One time his (then) girlfriend was suspicious that he was using, so he took a Suboxone just to “show her” and he had shot up 20 minutes before that. He said it did not make him sick at all. It would make him get a “little less high” but other than that it didn’t affect him whatsoever.

Perhaps he needed a higher dose? I don’t know, but all I know is that experiment was a HUGE failure!! So parents, if you are thinking about using Suboxone with your addict, don’t get your hopes up like I did. I really thought it would solve everything. Man was I was wrong – as usual!!

On another note, court was yesterday. Continued to December 18th so no news there. That just happens to be my husband’s birthday. Maybe they will throw J back into prison for another year or two – that would be a good present!!

Responses

  1. Suboxone needs to be taken sublingually (melted under the tongue and absorbed). If he put it in his mouth and swallowed it….there would be very little effect. Suboxone did not work for either of our children but it really can be a miracle for some. You know how when they go into detox sick as a dog and three or four days later they call and sound like a million bucks…that’s the Suboxone talking. They immediately stop craving and start looking to the future. The problem always seems to be when they think they have it all under control, thats when things seem to fall apart. Well that’s my experience anyway.

  2. In my limited experience, suboxone is about the same as methadone, and if you look at the stats, methadone centers look like they’re pretty big business. No one ever gets off of it, and I’m not so sure they ever get any kind of “quality of life”, either. My ex weaned himself off of heroin with Jack Daniels. Not that I’d suggest anyone else doing that, but I can tell you there was no other chemicals in his system after he kicked the heroin. THEN life began.


Leave a Reply

Categories

