Posted by: addictionstinks | December 6, 2011

Can’t Trust Anybody

I’m almost 50 years old and I’m just now REALLY figuring that out. You truly cannot trust ANYBODY.

My bff has burned me. We’ve been friends since high school. She’s worked for my husband’s company for 20 years. We just found out yesterday that she’s been stealing from the company. I’m so incredibly disheartened. This sucks so bad.

My husband is continuing his investigation today of exactly how much and to what capacity she’s been stealing from us. I’m certain we will not press charges – I just want her out of there. Its not a huge amount of money, its more the principle of the thing.

People suck.

I mean, really? Is this what I have to look forward to for the rest of my life? Because if the past is any indication, then I should just become a hermit now.

Let’s start with my first husband, whom I trusted enough to marry, and then he beat the shit out of me on a regular basis. Then lets move along to my father’s second wife, who abandoned all of us and her grandchildren after my father passed away. Lets move along to the three employees in the last 20 years that we’ve had to fire for stealing from us. And lets not even mention my own son – who became an addict, stole everything I owned that wasn’t  nailed down and pawned it for drug money. And I have my doubts about his integrity right now – another whole story for another day.

People suck.

 

Responses

  1. I’m sorry. There are a few people who I trust. But I have found that we each have character defects and those are what cause the problems. We are just human. Greed, selfishness, dishonesty, fear cause people to do crazy things. I am cautious with people. Not the best way to be but something that helps me to feel “safe”. I trust my Higher Power. That is the ultimate trust.

  2. People do suck. But not all people. I can’t imagine the betrayal and anger you must feel toward your bff. There’s really no excuse for stealing (is she an addict? in debt?). Who wouldn’t be upset by this? Its one thing to steal but to steal from your friends….that’s either desperation or complete lack of respect.

    I’m sorry you have to be let down yet AGAIN by someone close to you.

    Sending you a hug today, seems like you need one.

  3. Sometimes it seems that way. Close to the town where I raised my kids, the criminal court judge was just relieved with a slap on the wrist for sitting on the bench stoned for over three years, taking as many as 300 oxys a month. He bought the pills from felons in his drug court (he founded it). Now just about all the criminal convicted during the last 3 – 4 year need to be retried at tax payers expense. Makes you lose fatih in humanity. Sorry that you had such a terrible experience with your best friend. I know this must hurt.

    • I can relate. In our town they had one of those programs where you can turn in your unwanted/unused prescriptions. The police officer that was overseeing this program has been convicted of stealing the drugs that were turned in.

  4. I am sorry you are having doubts about your son’s integrity right now…doubt is such a nasty little nugget of BS. It grows and multiplies no matter how hard you keep the lid on it. I HATE DOUBT. I don’t know how to deal with it anymore and that is just one more thing to be sad about.

    I think Barbara may have a point, desperate people do desperate things and BFF’s can reach desperation too. I feel sorry for your friend. She has no idea what a friend she gave up in you. I hope she appreciates that you will not prosecute.


Leave a Reply

Categories

