Posted by: addictionstinks | August 7, 2011

Things I’ve Never Thought Of

Tonight, as I sit here watching the clock tick (LOL), I got to thinking about what to expect when J comes home. So I hopped onto a forum for prisoners and their families from my state. They have a section on there about paroling and coming home. There was a whole article on there about what to expect when they first come home. Lots of things I’ve NEVER even thought of! For instance:

*He probably won’t remember to shut off the lights or close cabinet doors because he hasn’t had any control over light switches and no cabinets while incarcerated.

*He probably won’t be able to cut his meat with a knife. Of course they didn’t give the inmates knives!

*He probably won’t walk through a doorway first – he will follow.

*He will want to sit with his back to the wall.

*Colors will overwhelm him (he’s been living in drab gray for 2 years).

*One person on there said her inmate was totally freaked out by trees. He hadn’t seen a tree or plant in so long that the trees freaked him out. He thought they were gonna grab him.

*His ability to make any decisions was completely stripped from him, so he probably won’t be able to make simple decisions for a while, like what he would like for dinner.

*One person on there said her inmate changed his clothes 4 or 5 times a day. When she asked him why, he basically said, “Because I can. I’ve been wearing prison blue for so long and now I can wear different colors”.

*He hasn’t had human touch at all for the whole time he was in there. It was suggested to NEVER sneak up behind him and put my arms around him for a hug.

Wow. All this stuff that I never even thought of. I’m so glad I found this article! Although it brought tears to my eyes to think about a lot of this stuff, and that my son has had to endure through this. I guess while he was in there I chose not to realize these things – maybe it would be too painful to think about.

Still waiting!

Tick…tock…tick…tock…

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

