Posted by: addictionstinks | August 3, 2011

Last Day of Class

Today is the last day of class. And then the paperwork just has to be signed by 5 different people, all of them on the campus of the prison, but in totally different areas, ending with the warden. How long do you suppose that will take? He’s totally NOT counting on it being Friday. We’re thinking Monday or Tuesday. At any rate it’s just days away. If it’s not Friday, then I’m thinking about driving down there on Sunday just so I don’t have to rush when he does call me. It’s a 6 hour drive, so I’d rather not have to do it in a hurry. Or at 10:00 at night!

In the meantime, I am useless! I can get nothing done at work! My mind is elsewhere all the time and I’m totally wasting my days even being there. For those that don’t know, I own my own business. I am a professional photographer. My studio building is up for sale as of last week, because it’s totally stupid to keep paying over 3k a month to have the place. I’m facing some difficult decisions once it does sell. Do I want to continue this business? Or retire? In the meantime, I’m doing no marketing because I am truly burned out and frustrated. I have no desire to see clients or do my job. Since the advent of digital, the photography business has become a tough gig. There’s a lot of moms with cameras who hang their shingle thinking it will be a quick buck, and then charge next to nothing for their time, putting us REAL pros in quite a pickle because clients now don’t wish to pay our professional-level prices. I may just give it up and go back to work with my husband at his business. We’ll see.

Off to start my day! Happy Hump Day everyone!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

