Posted by: addictionstinks | July 25, 2011

Party??

It’s hard to believe it’s been a year already since this post: https://addictionstinks.wordpress.com/2010/07/27/were-home/ where I announce the birth of my grand-nephew Kaden. But it has already!! So yesterday we had a party at my sister’s house for Kaden’s first birthday. The whole family was there, as well as a couple of the neighbors whom we’ve known forever. J called right in the middle of the party (he knew we were there), so he could talk to people on the phone. So he got to talk to his cousin, and his other cousin, and another cousin, and a couple of aunts. But we really surprised him when we handed the phone to Bree. Bree is my sister’s neighbor’s daughter. J and Bree have known each other since they were about 3 years old. Bree still has the photograph of her and J standing outside of the school together on their first day of kindergarten. And NOBODY better touch that photograph!!

Anyway, after J talked to everyone and we hung up, it was suggested that we have a party when he gets out. I think my sister suggested it. Really?? So I asked, “You mean, you guys all want me to have a ‘My Son Is Out Of Prison’ party? Ha! Ha! Ha! Ha! Ha!” But they were serious!! None of them have seen J in a couple of years now, and they all want to see him. I swear, I have THE.BEST.FAMILY!! Looks like we’re having a party at my house in a couple of weeks, so they can all love on my son when he gets home. I’m truly touched. I really thought they didn’t care. I really thought they gave up on him as the “black sheep”, the “screw up” years ago. I guess not.

 

Responses

  1. It sounds like a wonderful idea….and a joy for you to plan and look forward to. Savor the goodness,…..you deserve it. : )

  2. Wow – That is great! Love and support is what he needs. It’s what we all need. I hope the time speeds up for you! šŸ™‚

  3. Rejoicing with you!!! šŸ™‚

    Cheri

  4. How kind and wonderful! Please let us know how it went!!!! Tell J my J is rooting for him!

  5. THIS MAKES ME HAPPY! I wish we could all be there too šŸ™‚ He’d say, “um who are all those people I don’t know that seem so happy to see me?” Ok, maybe its best that we send him good wishes via your blog.


Leave a Reply

Categories

