Posted by: addictionstinks | July 3, 2011

Can I Pray Enough For Both Of Us?

J is a non-believer. I’ve tried. But he just can’t wrap his head around the idea of any supreme being. I know many times a faith in the Lord is so helpful to those recovering from addiction. Can I pray enough for both of us?

As I lay quietly in bed early this morning, I asked the Lord that question. His response: “He’s an adult. Teach him to pray for himself.” So now I’m praying that he will open his heart and at least listen to the possibility that He exists.

Any advice? We are all a bit nervous for his release. Even J has admitted to being nervous. He’s afraid he will relapse. I say if he had an unshakable faith in God, he would feel much better. I have an unshakable faith that God will be with me no matter what happens, holding my hand and keeping me sane, just like he has so far.

Responses

  1. I so hear your heart in this matter, and I’ve experienced your dilemma in my own family. We raised all our children in the faith, all four of them.

    The oldest professed a faith in Christ as a teen, even led his friends to the Lord, but as an adult he comes and goes in his faith. It is so hard to watch him struggle, but we know where he needs to go for his strength. Unfortunately, we can’t go there for him; all we can do is pray. It has to be his own decision. He chose a path in life that took him away from his faith, and now he struggles.

    The next one got mixed up in drugs, but gave his heart fully to the Lord in rehab (when he was 19), and he is walking in a strong faith right now. He had to hit rock bottom before he found his way, but he is where he needs to be now. It didn’t happen for him until we, as parents, let go of trying to control him and turned him fully over to God in prayer.

    The last two are walking in faith, and both have done so since being young children; they seem to have learned from their older siblings’ mistakes. Even so, both of them went through a period in their late teens where they pulled away from my husband and myself, needing to make their faith their own, rather than riding our coattails.

    That said, I would say that you cannot trust in Jesus for your son, but you can pray a hedge of protection around him. God answers prayer. Our family is living proof. The hedge of protection doesn’t mean that nothing bad will happen, but I sincerely believe that God keeps a hedge around those we pray for, allowing sometimes unexpected circumstances, both good and bad, but always using them to work all things together for good in our lives and in the lives of those we are praying for.

    We are joining you in prayer for your J!

    Love and hugs (and prayers…),
    Cheri and Wayne


Leave a Reply

Categories

