Posted by: addictionstinks | April 28, 2011

Flooding, Another Visit And Volunteering

Its flooding in southern Illinois, where J is incarcerated. Last week we were down in the Smoky Mountains in the RV, where it was 80 and sunny. It was so nice! This weather here has been awful. Today it was all of 44 degrees and raining. And its almost May!

Anyhow, on the way back up, we camped in southern Illinois and went and visited J again. It was a brief visit, because by the time we got there after travelling all day, we had only about 30 minutes. It was still nice to see him of course.

On our way out of the campground in the morning, we were diverted on the road because it was flooded and they had blocked it off. J tells me its been raining every day since then still, and getting worse. At one point they were telling all the inmates that they couldn’t take showers because they couldn’t put more water into the sewers.

So today when I talked to J, he told me that he had volunteered to help fill sandbags for the people in the town where his prison is. FINALLY! He gets to do SOMETHING to contribute to society! Don’t even get me started on WHY the state of Illinois refuses to put our inmates to work! There are approximately 45,000 inmates in the state of Illinois. Can you even imagine what we could accomplish with all that FREE LABOR!!

Responses

  1. I hear you. Happy to hear J gets to do something! We spend a lot of time in the Smoky Mountains, it’s only 2 hours from my house.

  2. I have been worrying about all my friends in that part of the cournty, I am glad you are all safe.

    I agree about working in jail/prison, they should be doing something. On the other hand, would that take away paying jobs from people who need work?

    I don’t know but we use a lot of inmates for a variety of things. One thing is they become volunteer fireman if they live in one of our fire areas because when there’s a wildfire the more people trying to put it out the better.

    I’m glad J is doing something to help, and I hope it makes him feel good 🙂

  3. I’m glad that J got to help out. Maybe having something to do will help.


Leave a Reply

Categories

