Posted by: addictionstinks | December 27, 2010

My Own Little Space

When I was a child, my father and mother used to take us to northern Minnesota on vacation every year. Dad loved to fish, and Mom just loved the quiet of the place. We would go to the same resort every year, and stay in the same cabin every year. And every year I would take the time out of each day to walk to my “quiet place”. It was a rock outcropping right on the edge of the lake, located 2 resorts over from the one where we stayed. To get there I had to walk down a trail through the forest between the resorts, then down the large pile of rocks, all the way to my special rock right on the shore. I would walk there every day, and sit there for hours, all alone, and just “be”.

As part of the health problems I’ve been having lately, I realize that probably a lot of it is due to stress and anxiety. So I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about how to reduce this stress and anxiety in my life. One of the things I’ve realized is that I don’t have a “special place” anymore, and I haven’t in a long time. A quiet place, where I can go and just “be”. As with most of us that have built families over the years, I’ve learned to share my space with my husband, and my children, and (see last post), my mother-in-law, for many years. This was not always a healthy thing to do. I realize now that I NEED a space for me.

So today, I’m blowing off work, and starting to work on MY space. It will be in a pretty little room upstairs, that we use as a library right now. Hubby and I are both voracious readers, and the room is lined with shelves of books, but not furniture. It also has become the storage space for J’s clothing and bedding while he is away in prison. So I’m washing all of his clothes, putting them away in the spare bedroom where they should have been to begin with, and clearing out the room so I can furnish it to MY liking – without my husband’s input thank-you-very-much, and then I will have my space. To read, pray, meditate, whatever it is I need at that moment.

I’m excited!! I wish it were done already!!

Responses

  1. Nice. We each need a special place just for reflecting and relaxing. My boat does that for me. It is truly like having a tree house!

  2. This is AWESOME! I know how you feel about your own special place. My sewing/quilting studio (really, just the loft at my house, but doesn’t “my studio” sound cool?!) is my happy place. I am working at getting there more often. (Right now, that’s challenging because of all the driving I’m doing for my daughter as she settles into her new normal, but I’m working on it!) I find that the focus on the craft at hand calms me and the finished product give me such a sense of accomplishment. I can’t control much in my life, but I can sure make a quilt square turn out properly, and that seems to be enough to restore some of my serenity!! I hope your happy place is completed soon!!

  3. Sounds wonderful! So nice to have your own space to say, “Calgon take me away!” (or the likes!). Just to retreat and read or even just look out the window and think.
    God bless.

  4. I LOVE THIS IDEA! The best part is that you recognized a need you have and then took charge to meet that need! Good for you! Will you take pics of it when your done šŸ™‚

    • Absolutely Barbara!! I’m just waiting for the my purple chaise lounge to come home and it will be complete. Hopefully today.

  5. I am excited for you and a little jealous! I want a quiet place but it does not exist in my house. My 7 year old alone fills every inch of this house along with the 2 dogs now. Volume is at a high decibel…nothing quiet going on here. LOL


Leave a Reply

Categories

