Posted by: addictionstinks | April 16, 2010

Kicked Out of Treatment!

Oh man, I’m soooooooooooo mad! J just called me to come pick him up. Apparently, he is being “discharged” from the inpatient facility TODAY. When asked why, he says there was an “incident last night”. When pressed further, he claims that he was outside playing basketball, and went to spit in the grass, and the wind picked it up and it hit some other guy. From there, things almost got violent, although J claims that he just walked away.

I then told him I needed to speak with his counselor. She happened to be right there, so he put her on the phone. She informed me that there have been MULTIPLE “incidents” during J’s stay there, and that they have only gotten ONE good week out of him – the week before his pass home. He’s rude. He doesn’t follow the rules. They have utilized all of their resources at this point trying to get through to him, and he does not respond favorably. Therefore, they are done.

I informed her that I would NOT be coming to pick J up, and asked her what the next step was. She said she would contact his TASC officer, and he will come get him and bring him back to jail, pending a meeting in front of the judge, who will then decide if he can go to another treatment facility, or serve his time.

IDIOT!!!!!!!!!!

Pardon me for calling MY son names, but my God!!!!!! This was IT! This was his ONE shot to put this all behind him, and its now gone. When will this kid learn????????????

Gonna go cry now………..

Responses

  1. I am glad that you said you wouldn’t be picking him up. Hopefully, at some point, he will understand the consequences of his actions. Take care of yourself.

  2. I’m so sorry.

    Praying for you and your family.

    Cheri

  3. It is so frustrating when they throw these opportunities away. You made the right decision not to pick him up, but that doesn’t ease your pain in any way. Hang in there and I’m praying for your and your family.

  4. I’m crying with you and for you. This sucks. I guess its not getting through to him *yet* that he needs to get his life together. I’m sorry you have to suffer through this with anger and disappointment. Sometimes I wonder where is the “allow me not to care”? button – shouldn’t we all have one for times like this? I’ll check junkjunk to see if you are around if you want to chat 😦

    • Barbara- I don’t know junkjunk. What is the website? I googled it and got a bunch of junk dealers 🙂

  5. so sorry for this happening to you. Good for you to stand your ground. There is a junkjunk link on Barbara’s website Recovery Happens. You can connect there. Hope this helps.

  6. I’m praying for you and J. Wish I had some great advice or wisdom to pass along, but I can imagine how this has to hurt.
    Sending love & (((hugs)))

  7. I am so sorry you are having to go through this right now and that J doesn’t appear to be ready yet. I have had my hopes dashed so many times and every time it hurts just as bad. they have to get their in their own time and their own way, all we can do is keep hope, pray and get out of their way. (((HUGS)))

  8. I’m so sorry to hear this…. It’s so hard to see them blow a good chance… but I think you made a difficult but appropriate decision in letting him feel the consequences (i.e., you did not ride to his rescue and pick him up – you choose to let him experience the next thing the judge thinks is appropriate…) You’re doing an awesome job and you’re such a good mom. I know it hurts, every single time you take a stand. Prayers continue! Big hugs to you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

