Posted by: addictionstinks | March 20, 2010

New Puppy!

Nothing like a new puppy to bring a little joy into the house.

His name is Riley. He is a Norwegian Elkhound. Kind of an unusual breed. We had one before. Our Ben lived for 13 years and passed away last spring. It was very traumatic, as I was the one who killed him. He was really really old and didn’t see or hear anymore. I hopped in my car to run to Target, opened the garage door and had no idea that Ben was laying right outside the garage door and ran him over. It completely broke my heart, and I still have nightmares. I am struggling a little bit with the new puppy, as he looks just like Ben did. I’m a bit paranoid every time I get in my car to go somewhere.

Anyhow, he’s cute as can be. We are now, of course, in potty training, which is a joy in itself, especially given the weather today – back to 30 degrees and snowing! Blech!! Not sure what happened to spring, but it can hurry back now please!!

Mr. Riley:

Responses

  1. He is soooo cute!

  2. Oh my gosh! He is soooo cute!!! 🙂 Thanks for posting the picture! You’ll have to post more as time goes on. “Her Big Sad” blog sometimes posts pictures of her dogs – these are my favorite posts of all.
    That had to be so traumatic for you last year, I can see why you’re nervous, but with a puppy there are probably other things to worry about now – like protecting your shoes 🙂
    God bless.

  3. I’m in love! He is so adorable! =) =) =)

    We had to put our “pup” to sleep last December. She was 16 1/2, blind, deaf, and her nervous system was going haywire. She would just fall over sometimes, or get stuck in weird places in the house (blind). It got to where I had to use a clothes pin to pin her ears back so she could eat, and right at the end I had to hand feed her. Very sad.

    I’m ready for a new puppy!

    Anyhow, enjoy Riley! He’s so cute.

    Hugs,
    Cheri

  4. He is adorable! I think that Riley is a wonderful little fella.

  5. I think God put puppies on this Earth to make everyone feel better! How adorable.

    And with puppies, it is our opportunity to start fresh a loving relationship with an animal, usually replacing a long-time “family member” that has gone to the “kennel in the sky.”

  6. Oh that little one is so cute! Isn’t it great how they can make us smile? and tell me any other living being on the planet that will turn itself insight out with joy when you come in the door (after having only been gone 2.5 minutes to walk to the mailbox and back!) GRAND REUNION TIME!

    I never get that kind of welcome from anyone else! Pure, wiggling ecstatic furballs of joy! Especially the little ones. I had three in my lap for a quiet time tonight…. I swear my blood pressure drops while sitting with them. Please post more pix – Riley is a charmer!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

