Posted by: addictionstinks | February 22, 2010

Fearless

Did anyone see the Olympics yesterday with the Canadian kid named Chris Del Bosco? This kid is a former admitted alcoholic and addict, who’s been sober for over 3 years now, and went on to compete in the Olympics in Snowcross. What a crazy sport!! These guys are zooming around the track on skis like mad, and jumping huge jumps. Anyways, Chris made into the finals (the last 4 skiiers), and was boogeying down the hill in 3rd place – which would have netted him a VERY NICE bronze medal. But that wasn’t good enough for him. So at the end of the run, he really turned it all on, and ended up wiping out! Huge bummer, cuz I was really rooting for him – just because he’s a former addict who went on to succeed at something really awesome. Great story!!

Anyways, this got me thinking. About how addicts are completely fearless! Think about it – would you have the guts to stick that needle in YOUR arm??? I know I wouldn’t!!

My son has ALWAYS been fearless. Just look at the photo at the top of my blog. Yep, that’s J, booking down the street on his bike with his hair on fire and one wheel up in the air. This is the kid that ALWAYS came to me bleeding from somewhere. His dream is to become a Nascar driver. And an airplane pilot – of small aircraft, preferably fighter jets. He’s only EVER happy if he’s going Mach 2 with his hair on fire.

Is this a symptom of being an addict? That they are just fearless people?

Thoughts???

Responses

  1. I felt exactly like you did last night watching Chris. I think you got a point. My daughter was always fearless too. She could swim when she was two, and when she was four I remember being in Munich at the Olympic stadium swimming pools which was open to the public after the Olympic games. She saw that over at the diving pool, some kids were having diving lessons, and she just got in line at the diving board. She had never been in this pool before. She told the instructor she wanted to jump just once and he told her to go ahead. My stepmother was with us and she almost had a heart attack because she can’t swim… My daughter got up on the board and fearlessly jumped into the pitch black water of the diving pool, came back up and swam to the side and climbed out of the pool. Now she is almost 30 and addicted to Oxy since high school. What a waste.

  2. There is scientific research that shows that kids who are risk takers are more likely to use drugs.

    I guess it makes sense.

  3. Wow, thanks for sharing about Chris! I have been too busy and or tired too watch the Olympics.

    I think a lot of addicts have that fearless quality about them, they like risk, they are not afraid of certain things. My “adopted son” is like that. He’s done some crazy wild stuff. My son loves driving fast and used to have a very, very, very fast car (its a miracle he never crashed but he’s a good driver).

    I think just to pick up a needle that first time and stick it in your arm knowing it could kill you takes a certain kind of person.

    • YES! My son, at 21, has legally had a driver’s license for only about 6 months out of the last 5 years. The first time it took him 3 months to lose it (speeding tickets), then he got it back, then another 3 months to lose it again. He’s completely wild!

      That is why I put that photo at the top of my blog – because it defines my son so well. I have another photo of him hung in my house of him hanging upside down off a basketball net. That’s him – fearless, nuts, a total risk-taker, with no regard for the consequences.

  4. I’m not sure because I consider myself to have lots of courage but I’m not stupid. I know my limits. Maybe that is the difference. Addicts don’t have good limits.


Leave a Reply

Categories

