Posted by: addictionstinks | February 21, 2010

No contact for two weeks

Well, it was supposed to be no contact for two weeks anyway.

J called me last night to inform me that the jeans I brought him no longer fit. The counsellors there allowed this since he had none to wear. He said he gained 35 pounds while sitting in jail, and not using. Funny how that happens – suddenly they care to eat again and pack on some pounds.

So I had to run out to Kohl’s and buy him 3 pair of new jeans and bring them over to him. They allowed me to see him (with the counsellor standing right beside him) for the moment it took to exchange his old jeans for the new ones. And I got a hug!!!! It was awesome…

I asked him quickly how all was going? His response was, “Its going great! I love it! I feel great, and I’m learning a lot! And we get to have rec time for an hour every day – I’ve been playing basketball.” He always loved playing basketball. I’m hanging on to the old jeans, as I suspect that in about a month or so they will fit again, now that he’s not sitting on his butt all day doing nothing (in county jail, they are not even allowed outside – he sat on his butt for 5 months literally doing NOTHING).

Oh yes, there is HOPE.

Responses

  1. I went through the same thing with my son, J. I had to mail him new jeans (they won’t let you bring them in)…hope you’re feeling better!!

  2. I got so happy when you wrote you got a hug 🙂 We’ve haven’t seen Heather in months but when we get an “I love you” over the phone, it’s SOOO nice 🙂 So encouraging J is doing well and feeling great!
    God bless.

  3. I’m glad. And yes there is always hope


Leave a Reply

Categories

