Posted by: addictionstinks | February 19, 2010

From The Beginning

As the title of my blog says, “Addiction Stinks!”

Sometimes even quite literally. Like when your addict is in full swing with his addiction, and he doesn’t even care to shower or brush his teeth for weeks at a time. Quite literally, at times, my addict STUNK!

I am the mom of an addict. He’s 21 years old now, and has been an active addict for about 5 years. It started off with the usual smoking pot, and escalated from there. His drug of choice is “everything” (as told by him), but I believe heroin was his favorite.

He’s been arrested numerous times (we’ll get more into that in later posts), and his last arrest landed him in jail in September. By now Mom and Dad had had enough, and did NOT bail him out. So there he sat. As of Wednesday (Feb. 17), he has been admitted, through a state-run program, into a 3  month long drug rehab facility.

We are hopeful.

After many years of tears, being lied to, stolen from, scared out of our minds, we finally have a small shred of hope.

Follow along on my journey of self-discovery during the addiction process, and how we, as parents are able to deal with this heinous disease.

Responses

  1. Hi,

    I hate to say it but welcome to our club, parent of an addict.

    Writing has helped me beyond my imagination. I hope it is helpful for you too.

    • Hi Ron!
      I’ve been reading your blog for quite a while now – in fact it was the first one that I found one day when I was feeling particularly hopeless and I googled “Parent of an addict”. You have given me such hope, and I love your posts and your advice! Please know that I am praying for you and Mom and your son always.

  2. I’m one who always has hope, I have to – whatever the amount – even “a small shred” – it’s there. He’s made it to rehab, a lot can be done in 90 days, hang on to your small shred, and hopefully as the days go by and you see progress the shred enlarges, maybe to a whole piece!
    My 19 year-old daughter (almost 20) is nowhere near rehab, or even NA meetings – but I hope.
    God bless.

    • Hi Heather’s Mom! I went over to your blog and read. My goodness, what a mess right now! I will be praying for your daughter as well.

      “For where two or three come together in my name, there am I with them.” Matthew 18:20

  3. Your journey sounds very similar to mine. My 22 yr. old son is in a 3 month rehab also. He also was in jail.

    This community of parents have helped me tremendously! When he is released, you will better prepared to handle situations. It is a family disease and education, therapy, etc. will help you in recovery. I will follow your blog and will pray for peace and healing for you, your son and your family!

    Sherry

  4. Me too. My lifesaver was Alanon. I am able now to blog about things other than my son and his addiction. He is so much more than his disease and so am I. He has been my greatest teacher. His disease sucks but I no longer revolve around his disease. It took me a long time but I can only share that if you haven’t checked out Alanon, please do. It isn’t for everyone, but it was for me. I’ll keep all of you in my thoughts.

    I love meeting new bloggers!

    namaste

  5. I am here to tell you there is HOPE. Your son is on the same path as my son. My boy is 19 and was addicted to heroin for a year and a half (started using “everything else” at age 15). I did the tears the being lied and stolen to, etc. and then the best thing possible happened: he got sent to jail for 90 days and appointed to a 90 day drug rehab! It helped my son, Keven, and I will be hoping and praying it helps your son too. There are no guarantees, but it could be just what he needed. Do you know if your son has any underlying mental health issues? That was also a big help in my son’s recovery process, he is on the right meds now and able to cope with day to day living much better.

    Please know, you are not alone, I will add you to my blog links at “Recovery Happens”.

  6. Take the three months to take stock but also enjoy the peace and calm. It is basically the only time I can relax but I am learning to let go. The people in this community will offer you support and very good advice. I will be reading your blog and will add you to my prayers.

    ~Monica

  7. Three months is a great start. My daughter is still in active addiction. I hope we can learn from each other how to cope as they say weather or not the addict stops using.

  8. Hi, sorry you are in the club. I’m the dreary one around these parts. Just too tired to deal with my daughter’s addiction anymore. it’s HER problem, not mine.

  9. I came over from Dad and Mom’s blog. Glad that you are writing about this. It really helps and the recovery blogger community is close knit. Good luck to you on this journey.

  10. I am also sorry we are welcoming another member to the “club” but the support I find with the other bloggers is priceless. My son is 24 and been using actively since age 15 (his drug of choice is oxy). He is not even close to being in any type of recovery at this point, although he is on probation and has to attend some drug classes. I will be praying for your son and that his health is restored this time around. Restore yourselves during the next three months. I have added you to my blog roll.

  11. I too will pray, and add you to my blog list. You will get much support from this little on-line community – they have helped me immeasurably!

    Take advantage of the next three months to rest and increase your resolve and hopefully, to get to Alanon or Naranon (Alanon meetings are more prevalent where I am, and yet, as I get to know the members, their alcoholics are usually alcoholic/addicts, like my daughter is).

    Where there is life, there is hope!

  12. Hi,
    Sorry you are a another non-volunteer in the “club”. I have not officially started blogging yet, but I am thinking about it. I read most of the above blogs regularly, however. I know where you come from and knowing you are not alone, helps. My “beginning” with the addiction experience started 6 years ago with my daughter confessing that she has been abusing Oxy since high school. She is now 29 years old. Lying, stealing, broken promises, rehabs, been there, done that. Now I don’t have any contact with her anymore. She has two little ones and I am waiting for the big blow up which will inevitably come sooner or later.
    You and your family are in my prayers.

  13. I came over from Mom & Dad’s site. You’ve already been through so much…but maybe this change in direction…and 3 months in rehab will be the start of a new, better journey.

    My addict, my son, is currently finishing a 4-month inpatient rehab after a 3 year addiction, of which 2 years have been heroin. We’ve done it all, except jail. I look forward to reading your story, learning from you and sharing with you.

    And HOPE is what it is all about!

  14. I am there with you. Daughter came out to us as a heroin addict on 1/1. She was in rehab for 28 days and has been home for 30. She asked us for help and I hope of the children ask because that is half the battle. I would not have gotten through this without your blogs. God Bless!


Leave a Reply

Categories

